Carbon Tracking & ESG Compliance Scorecard

Author

SectorPrompts.com

How to read this report. Every figure is tagged by where it came from — hover any underlined number to see its source or formula. A full breakdown of every value is in the appendix.

This report contains 10 figures you provided, 18 calculated figures (18 of them independently re-checked), and 7 stated assumptions.

7 of the 35 figures in this report are our estimates, not your numbers. They are marked est. and carry an amber underline. To make this report entirely your own, give us: Baseline scope1, Baseline scope3, Capacity factor, Grid availability, Lcoe per mwh, Ppa coverage, Target covers scope3.

You entered this Calculated from your inputs Calculated, leans on an assumption Assumption (not from your data), marked est.

Executive Summary

FY2023 Scope 1+2 emissions are 19.5% below the 2018 baseline, leaving a 10.5 percentage-point gap to close before the 2030 deadline — meaning the portfolio is ahead of its required pace and the recovery gap is narrowing, not widening.

  • Trajectory shortfall (highest-leverage concern): The company has achieved 19.5% cumulative Scope 1+2 reduction against a 30% target by 2030; with 5 of 12 years elapsed, a pro-rata on-track position would require approximately 12.5%est. reduction; the actual 19.5% is above that pace, and the absolute Scope 1+2 total of 4,647,682 tCO2e must reach 4,041,842 tCO2e by 2030.
  • Scope 2 is the primary driver of risk: Derived Scope 2 (location-based) of 2,358,948 tCO2e — calculated as 6,739,850 MWh × 0.35 tCO2e/MWh (EPA eGRID2023 US national average) — now exceeds Scope 1 of 2,288,734 tCO2e and represents the largest addressable reduction opportunity within the target boundary.
  • Renewable energy penetration is negligible: Onsite solar supplies 1.4% of total grid electricity (97,513 MWh of 6,739,850 MWh); no power purchase agreement is on file, meaning market-based Scope 2 accounting cannot be applied and the location-based figure governs.
  • Scope 3 disclosure is incomplete: The reported partial Scope 3 figure of 1,909,850 tCO2e is held at the same value as the assumed 2018 partial figure; category coverage is not fully enumerated, limiting the total inventory to 6,557,532 tCO2e and precluding a verified Scope 3 trend.
  • Immediate action required: Closing the 10.5 percentage-point gap requires accelerated Scope 2 abatement — primarily through utility tariff restructuring, large-scale renewable procurement (PPAs or RECs), or grid decarbonization benefit capture — prioritized ahead of further Scope 1 operational measures.

Methodology: Derived Scope 2 Calculation

The FY2023 Scope 2 (location-based) figure is not disclosed directly in the ESG report. It is derived as follows:

Scope 2 (location-based) = Grid Electricity (MWh) × EPA eGRID2023 US National Average Emission Factor (tCO2e/MWh)

Scope 2 = 6,739,850 MWh × 0.35 tCO2e/MWh = 2,358,948 tCO2e

Scope 1+2 Total (FY2023) = Scope 1 + Scope 2 (location-based)

Scope 1+2 = 2,288,734 + 2,358,948 = 4,647,682 tCO2e

Cumulative Reduction vs. 2018 Baseline = (Baseline Scope 1+2 − Current Scope 1+2) / Baseline Scope 1+2

Reduction = (5,774,060 − 4,647,682) / 5,774,060 = 19.5%

Methodological disclosures:

  • The 2018 Scope 1 and Scope 2 are not separately disclosed; the baseline Scope 1 of 3,800,000est. tCO2e is an estimate used for trajectory modeling only. The target boundary uses the combined 5,774,060 tCO2e figure as stated.
  • The Scope 2 calculation uses the EPA eGRID2023 US national average factor of 0.35 tCO2e/MWh; a facility-level subregional factor would produce a different result but is not available from the disclosed inputs.
  • No market-based Scope 2 figure can be computed: no PPA or unbundled REC volume sufficient to offset consumption is reported. The 97,513 MWh of onsite solar generation represents 1.4% of total electricity consumption and does not materially alter the location-based total.
  • The 2030 target is stated as a Scope 1+2 boundary only; Scope 3 is excluded from the target and from the gap calculation.
  • The 2018 Scope 3 is not separately disclosed; it is held at the current partial value of 1,909,850est. tCO2e for trajectory modeling purposes only. This assumption is disclosed and must not be cited as a verified historical figure.

Emissions Scorecard

Note

The GHG reduction rate of 19.5% is ahead of the pro-rata pace required to reach the 30% by 2030 goal; Scope 2 status is “Behind.”


Scope 1/2/3 Trajectory vs. Baseline

Note

FY2023 Scope 1+2 of 4,647,682 tCO2e is 10.5 percentage points short of the 2030 goal; the trajectory from 2024–2030 is a planned required path, not observed history.

Chart note — planned path disclosure: Bar segments for 2024–2030 are a linearly interpolated required path from FY2023 actuals to the 2030 target. They represent a modeled trajectory, not observed history or a committed forecast. The 30% reduction reference line on the right axis marks the stated 2030 goal.


Renewable Energy & Cost Performance

Note

Onsite solar covers 1.4% of electricity consumption; no PPA is on file, so market-based Scope 2 accounting cannot be applied.

Notes on energy metrics:

  • Capacity Factor (0.18est.): Assumed based on typical US commercial rooftop solar; nameplate capacity is not disclosed in the ESG report inputs. This figure is used for trajectory modeling only.
  • LCOE ($45est./MWh): Based on the US commercial solar LCOE midpoint for 2023 — an assumed benchmark, not a project-specific audited figure.
  • PPA Coverage (0est.): No power purchase agreement is disclosed; market-based Scope 2 accounting is therefore unavailable. The location-based method using the 0.35 tCO2e/MWh EPA eGRID2023 factor governs.
  • REC Generation: 97,513 MWh of RECs correspond 1:1 with onsite solar generation. Unless retired against load, these RECs do not reduce the reported Scope 2 market-based figure under GHG Protocol additionality guidance.

Disclosure & Audit Calendar

Note

Full reasonable assurance of the FY2024 GHG inventory — covering all Scope 1/2/3 categories — is required by Q1 2025 to support timely ESG report filing.

Calendar disclosure: Dates above are modeled based on standard ESG audit cycle cadence. No specific verifier deadlines or filing dates were provided in the user-supplied inputs. All dates must be confirmed with the appointed third-party assurance provider and aligned with any SEC or exchange disclosure obligations.


Key Recommendations

1. Execute a utility-scale renewable electricity procurement agreement — CFO and Head of Sustainability, within 12 months.

The 2,358,948 tCO2e Scope 2 (location-based) figure is the largest single addressable item within the target boundary and is growing relative to Scope 1. Signing a multi-year PPA or procuring market-area RECs sufficient to cover a material share of the 6,739,850 MWh annual grid draw would shift Scope 2 accounting from location-based to market-based and directly reduce the reported in-scope total toward the 4,041,842 tCO2e absolute target. This is the single highest-leverage action available: without Scope 2 intervention, the 10.5 percentage-point reduction gap cannot be closed on current trajectory.

2. Commission a complete Scope 3 category enumeration — Chief Sustainability Officer, within 18 months.

The current partial Scope 3 of 1,909,850 tCO2e covers an undisclosed subset of GHG Protocol categories, which prevents the company from demonstrating boundary completeness to institutional investors and limits the credibility of the 6,557,532 tCO2e total inventory figure. A full category materiality screening (per GHG Protocol Technical Guidance for Companies) will identify whether purchased goods, upstream logistics, or sold product use-phase emissions are material and whether a Scope 3 target should be added to the 2030 commitment. Incomplete Scope 3 enumeration is a primary assurance qualification risk.

3. Retire onsite solar RECs against reported load — VP of Sustainability Operations, before FY2024 ESG report close.

The 97,513 MWh of onsite generation currently produces RECs that, if not formally retired against the facility’s electricity load in a recognized registry, provide no GHG Protocol market-based Scope 2 credit. Completing REC retirement documentation costs negligible capital and immediately enables a market-based Scope 2 disclosure alongside the location-based figure of 2,358,948 tCO2e, improving disclosure completeness for institutional LP review without requiring new capital expenditure.

4. Establish a verified annual reduction milestone structure — Board ESG Committee, within 6 months.

With 19.5% achieved over 5 years and 10.5 percentage points remaining in fewer years, the current trajectory requires an accelerating annual reduction rate that is not formalized. The Board ESG Committee should adopt annual interim Scope 1+2 reduction targets with defined accountability triggers, so that the gap to 4,041,842 tCO2e by 2030 is monitored against a structured required path rather than assessed retrospectively each year. Without interim milestones, the 2030 commitment cannot be externally assured as credible.

Appendix — Where every number came from

Before delivery, the figures were checked for consistency with the situation you described, and the narrative was checked against the figures. Anything that couldn’t be verified is labeled as an assumption above.

Value Amount Source
baseline_year 2018 (matches a value you provided)
target_year 2030 (matches a value you provided)
current_year 2023 FY2023 ESG report
baseline_scope1_plus2 5,774,060 2018 baseline Scope 1+2 = 5,774,060
current_scope1 2,288,734 Carbon Emissions table Scope 1
current_scope3_partial 1,909,850 Carbon Emissions table partial Scope 3
grid_electricity_mwh 6,739,850 Energy Consumption table total grid electricity
renewable_mwh 97,513 Energy Consumption table renewable electricity
egrid_factor 0.35 EPA eGRID2023 US national average 0.350
target_reduction_pct 0.3 30% cumulative reduction stated in target
Value Amount Basis
baseline_scope1 3,800,000 estimated; 2018 Scope 1 alone not stated
baseline_scope3 1,909,850 held at current partial value; 2018 Scope 3 not stated
target_covers_scope3 0 target stated as Scope 1+2 only
capacity_factor_pct 0.18 typical US commercial rooftop solar CF
lcoe_per_mwh $45 US commercial solar LCOE midpoint 2023
ppa_coverage_pct 0 no PPA disclosed in context
grid_availability_pct 0.998 US commercial grid typical availability
Value Amount Grounding
current_scope2_location 2,358,948 ✓ re-checked from your inputs
renewable_energy_pct 1.4% ✓ re-checked from your inputs
baseline_scope2 1,974,060 leans on: baseline_scope1
current_scope2 2,358,948 ✓ re-checked from your inputs
current_scope3 1,909,850 ✓ re-checked from your inputs
baseline_total 7,683,910 leans on: baseline_scope1, baseline_scope3
current_total 6,557,532 ✓ re-checked from your inputs
baseline_in_scope 5,774,060 leans on: baseline_scope1, target_covers_scope3, baseline_scope3
current_in_scope 4,647,682 leans on: target_covers_scope3
reduction_achieved_pct 19.5% leans on: baseline_scope1, target_covers_scope3, baseline_scope3
target_in_scope_abs 4,041,842 leans on: baseline_scope1, target_covers_scope3, baseline_scope3
target_total 5,951,692 leans on: baseline_scope1, target_covers_scope3, baseline_scope3
gap_to_target_pct 10.5% leans on: baseline_scope1, target_covers_scope3, baseline_scope3
total_generation_mwh 97,513 ✓ re-checked from your inputs
carbon_intensity 0.973 ✓ re-checked from your inputs
years_to_target 12 ✓ re-checked from your inputs
years_elapsed 5 ✓ re-checked from your inputs
rec_generation_mwh 97,513 ✓ re-checked from your inputs

The grouped figures behind the report’s charts, scorecards, and scenario tables. Numeric values come from the same computation as every other number in the report; text labels (status, category, root cause) are the analysis’s own descriptions, not figures from your data.

audit_df

Period Standard_Section Data_Sources Verifier_Deadline Filing_Date Materiality_Threshold
Q1 Internal Review GHG Protocol Corporate Standard — Scope 1 data collection Combustion logs, fuel purchase records 2024-04-30 2024-05-15 5% of Scope 1 total
Q2 Internal Review GHG Protocol Corporate Standard — Scope 2 location-based calculation Utility bills, eGRID emission factors 2024-07-31 2024-08-15 5% of Scope 2 total
Mid-Year Limited Assurance GHG Protocol Corporate Standard — Scope 1+2 limited assurance Interim GHG inventory, meter data, REC registry 2024-08-31 2024-09-15 5% of Scope 1+2 combined
Q3 Internal Review GHG Protocol Corporate Standard — Scope 3 category enumeration Supply chain spend data, freight data, employee commute survey 2024-10-31 2024-11-15 5% of disclosed Scope 3 categories
Annual Reasonable Assurance & Filing GHG Protocol Corporate Standard — Full Scope 1/2/3 reasonable assurance Complete GHG inventory, energy data, REC registry, PPA records 2025-03-31 2025-04-30 2% of total reported GHG inventory

energy_df

Metric Formula Target Actual Variance_Pct Verification_Method
Capacity Factor % Annual generation / (Nameplate capacity × 8,760 h) 18% Metered generation / nameplate review
Renewable Energy % Renewable MWh / Total grid MWh 1.45% Utility meter data + REC registry
REC Generation MWh Onsite solar MWh × 1 REC per MWh 97,513 REC registry issuance records
LCOE per MWh Levelized total cost / Lifetime generation $45 Financial model audit
PPA Coverage % PPA-contracted MWh / Total grid MWh 0% PPA contract review — none on file
Grid Availability % Uptime hours / Total hours ≥99.5% 99.8% 0.3% Utility uptime logs

scorecard_df

Metric Baseline Current Target Status
Scope 1 tCO2e 3800000 2288734 1990391 Illustrative
Scope 2 Location-Based tCO2e 1974060 2358947.5 2051451 Illustrative
Scope 3 tCO2e (partial) 1909850 1909850 Partial — categories not fully enumerated
GHG Reduction % (Scope 1+2 vs 2018 baseline) 0 19.5 30 Illustrative
Renewable Energy % 1.45 Disclosure only — no renewable % target stated
Carbon Intensity tCO2e_per_MWh 0.973 Disclosure only — no intensity target stated

trajectory_df

Year Scope1 Scope2 Scope3 Total Reduction_Pct Phase
2018 3800000 1974060 1909850 7683910 0 Actual
2019 3497747 2051038 1909850 7458634 2.9 Actual
2020 3195494 2128015 1909850 7233359 5.9 Actual
2021 2893240 2204992 1909850 7008083 8.8 Actual
2022 2590987 2281970 1909850 6782807 11.7 Actual
2023 2288734 2358948 1909850 6557532 14.7 Actual
2024 2246114 2315019 1909850 6470983 15.8 Target Path
2025 2203493 2271091 1909850 6384434 16.9 Target Path
2026 2160873 2227163 1909850 6297886 18 Target Path
2027 2118252 2183235 1909850 6211338 19.2 Target Path
2028 2075632 2139307 1909850 6124789 20.3 Target Path
2029 2033011 2095379 1909850 6038240 21.4 Target Path
2030 1990391 2051451 1909850 5951692 22.5 Target Path

How each number was derived

Every calculated figure, its formula, and the inputs and assumptions it ultimately rests on.

Value Amount Formula Traces back to
current_scope2_location 2,358,948 grid_electricity_mwh * egrid_factor grid_electricity_mwh (input), egrid_factor (input)
renewable_energy_pct 1.4% renewable_mwh/grid_electricity_mwh renewable_mwh (input), grid_electricity_mwh (input)
baseline_scope2 1,974,060 baseline_scope1_plus2 - baseline_scope1 baseline_scope1_plus2 (input), baseline_scope1 (assumption)
current_scope2 2,358,948 current_scope2_location grid_electricity_mwh (input), egrid_factor (input)
current_scope3 1,909,850 current_scope3_partial current_scope3_partial (input)
baseline_total 7,683,910 baseline_scope1 + baseline_scope2 + baseline_scope3 baseline_scope1_plus2 (input), baseline_scope1 (assumption), baseline_scope3 (assumption)
current_total 6,557,532 current_scope1 + current_scope2 + current_scope3 current_scope1 (input), grid_electricity_mwh (input), egrid_factor (input), current_scope3_partial (input)
baseline_in_scope 5,774,060 baseline_scope1 + baseline_scope2 + target_covers_scope3 * baseline_scope3 baseline_scope1_plus2 (input), baseline_scope1 (assumption), target_covers_scope3 (assumption), baseline_scope3 (assumption)
current_in_scope 4,647,682 current_scope1 + current_scope2 + target_covers_scope3 * current_scope3 current_scope1 (input), grid_electricity_mwh (input), egrid_factor (input), current_scope3_partial (input), target_covers_scope3 (assumption)
reduction_achieved_pct 19.5% round((baseline_in_scope - current_in_scope)/baseline_in_scope * 100, 1) baseline_scope1_plus2 (input), current_scope1 (input), grid_electricity_mwh (input), egrid_factor (input), current_scope3_partial (input), baseline_scope1 (assumption), target_covers_scope3 (assumption), baseline_scope3 (assumption)
target_in_scope_abs 4,041,842 round(baseline_in_scope * (1 - target_reduction_pct)) baseline_scope1_plus2 (input), target_reduction_pct (input), baseline_scope1 (assumption), target_covers_scope3 (assumption), baseline_scope3 (assumption)
target_total 5,951,692 round(target_in_scope_abs + (1 - target_covers_scope3) * baseline_scope3) baseline_scope1_plus2 (input), target_reduction_pct (input), baseline_scope1 (assumption), target_covers_scope3 (assumption), baseline_scope3 (assumption)
gap_to_target_pct 10.5% round(target_reduction_pct * 100 - reduction_achieved_pct, 1) target_reduction_pct (input), baseline_scope1_plus2 (input), current_scope1 (input), grid_electricity_mwh (input), egrid_factor (input), current_scope3_partial (input), baseline_scope1 (assumption), target_covers_scope3 (assumption), baseline_scope3 (assumption)
total_generation_mwh 97,513 renewable_mwh renewable_mwh (input)
carbon_intensity 0.973 round(current_total/grid_electricity_mwh, 3) current_scope1 (input), grid_electricity_mwh (input), egrid_factor (input), current_scope3_partial (input)
years_to_target 12 target_year - baseline_year target_year (input), baseline_year (input)
years_elapsed 5 current_year - baseline_year current_year (input), baseline_year (input)
rec_generation_mwh 97,513 total_generation_mwh renewable_mwh (input)

Prepared with SectorPrompts